Information about the region

Mangistau region is a region in the South-West of Kazakhstan, formerly called Mangyshlak.

From the West it is washed by the Caspian sea-the coast is issued in the West in the form of Mangyshlak Peninsula with deep gulfs Dead Kultuk, Mangyshlak, Kazakh, Kenderli. There are Seal Islands in the Caspian sea. The Northern part with extensive salt marshes is located on the Caspian lowland, the southern part is occupied by Mangystau mountains (Otpan, 532 m), Ustyurt plateau, Mangyshlak and Kenderli-Kayasan (in the South). Several depressions lie below sea level, including the lowest point of Kazakhstan — Karagiye depression on Mangyshlak Peninsula — -132 m.

Most of the territory of the area occupied by sagebrush-salt desert with vegetation on brown soils: the surface is partially covered with salt marshes, growing solonetz and Sands with extremely rare greenery.

Mangistau region is an industrial region, 25% of Kazakhstan's oil is extracted here (almost 20 million tons), the Aktau — Zhetybai — Uzen oil pipeline passes.

In Mangistau region there is a "sea gate" of Kazakhstan-the city of Aktau.

The region is divided into 5 districts and 2 cities of regional subordination:

  • Beineu district-Beineu;
  • Karakiyan district-Kuryk;
  • Mangistau district-Shetpe;
  • Munaili district-Mangistau;
  • Tupkaragan district-Fort Shevchenko;
  • the city of Aktau (Shevchenko);
  • the city of Zhanaozen (New Uzen). 

Aktau is a city in the South-West of Kazakhstan, the regional center of Mangistau region. 


165,642 sq km.

Regional center

Aktau, major cities-Zhanaozen

Neighboring regions and countries:

in the North-East with Atyrau and Aktobe regions, in the South-with Turkmenistan and in the East-with Uzbekistan.

Climatic conditions

The climate is sharply continental, extremely arid. The average temperature in January is -7 °C, in July +27 °C (on some days the maximum temperature exceeds +40 °C). Precipitation falls about 100-150 mm per year.


Key socio-economic indicators 

(as of March 1, 2020, thousand people)


(March 2020 to February 2020,%)


unemployment Rate
(for the IV quarter of 2019,% estimate)


(for 9 months of 2019,%)


average Monthly wage
(for the IV quarter of 2019, tenge)

309 102


Install the application:
1) Open the website in Safari
2) Click save
3) Add to home screen